Select Page

Warner University had a phenomenal 2016 football season. The Royals finished with an 8-2 record and were ranked as high as 26th in NAIA and 2nd in NCCAA. The Royals finished second in The Sun Conference, as well as, being awarded the Victory Bowl Championship and named the NCCAA National Champions. Several members also earned the All-NCCAA awards and the NAIA All-Conference awards.

Head Coach Rod Shafer

Head Coach Rod Shafer received Coach of the Year, while Defensive Player of the Year went to Drew Clark. Clark finished the season with 41 tackles, 14.5 for loss, and 8 sacks from the defensive end position.

Along with Clark, Dajshon Oliver was named to First Team All-NCCAA as an offensive lineman. Rahim Booker made Second Team All-NCCAA for offensive as a returner, and DJ Davis and Bryant Benton were both named to the honorable mention All-NCCAA team.

Besides Clark, the only other defensive player to be named to the All-NCCAA team was honorable mention selection Emmanuel Bien-Aime.

Here is the list of the 2016 All-Conference team awards for the Sun Conference our Royals received:

First Team All-Sun Conference:

Offense: OL- Dajshon Oliver

             RB- Byrant Benton

Defense: DL- Drew Clark

                DL- Larry Faison

                LB- Emmanuel Bien-Aime

                DB- Travell Sherrod

                DB- Raheem Phillips

Specialists: Return Specialist- Rahim Booker

Second Team All-Sun Conference:

Offense: OL- Wesley Brooks

               OL- Donald Carruthers

               OL- Cody Cox

               RB- Jerome Lindo

                TE- Justin Jackson

Defense: DL- Lane Burnett

                DB- Leonard Faison

                DB- Ronnie Harris

Academic All-Conference Team:

Bradley Coogan

Congrats Warner Football Team!